2021 AATT Conference


VI. AATT CONFERENCE

Teaching Turkish and Turkic Languages During Pandemic: Past, Present and Future Directions

October 31, 2021

The AATT Conference will be online.


  • The submission deadline is June 15, 2021.

 


====

5th AATT Conference:

21st Century Language Learning Standards and Curriculum Design

October 10, 2020

 

This conference is funded in part by the Institute of Turkish Studies (ITS), the University of Pennsylvania, University of Michigan, Georgetown University, the University of Texas at Austin, the Indiana University, Princeton University, Cornell University, the University of Arizona, Tucson, and the Nazarbayev University.

 

Conference Program

9:00 EST - 9:30 EST

Opening & Welcoming Remarks: Feride Hatiboğlu, University of Pennsylvania

Keynote Speech: Roberta Micallef, Boston University

Turkish Language Studies in the US Past and Present

Session video

9:30 EST - 10:45 EST

MORNING PARALLEL SESSIONS

10:45 EST - 11:15 EST

Social hour & Poster Presentations

11:15 EST - 12:30 EST

AFTERNOON PARALLEL SESSIONS

12:30 EST - 12:45 EST

 

Closing Remarks: Saadet Ebru Ergul, Stanford University

&

Highlights of the Forthcoming AATT Workshop:

Roberta Micallef, Boston University, micallef@bu.edu

HandWriting and Foreign Language Acquisition

on 11/06/2020 at 09:30 EST

 

MORNING PARALLEL SESSIONS:

PARALLEL SESSIONS I

9:30 EST - 10:45 EST

Chair: Uli Schamiloglu, Nazarbayev University

Session Video

 

I.1

9:30 EST - 9:45 EST

Sylvia Önder (& Zeynep Gür), Georgetown University

Three Virtual Weeks in Istanbul: Teaching Advanced Turkish in the Pandemic Summer of 2020 (in English)

onders@georgetown.edu

I.2

9:45 EST - 10:00 EST

Timur Kocaoğlu, Michigan State University

Teaching Turkish/Turkic Languages Online During and After the Pandemic: What did the Pandemic Teach Us? (in English)

timur@msu.edu

I.3

10:00 EST - 10:15 EST

Uli Schamiloglu, Nazarbayev University

Pandemics and Turkic Languages and Cultures(in English)

uli.schamiloglu@nu.edu.kz

PARALLEL SESSIONS II

EST 9:30-EST 10:45

Chair: Esra Predolac, University of Kansas

Session video

II.1

9:30 EST - 9:45 EST

Nihal Çalışkan, Yıldırım Beyazıt University

Aligning a CEFR-Graded Word List for Turkish at A1, A2 with the Needs of Learners in Area Studies (in Turkish)

caliskanihal@hotmail.com

II.2

9:45 EST - 10:00 EST

Nilgün Erkardaş, Université Sorbonne Paris Cité

Bilingualism Multiculturalism and Second Language Learning (in Turkish)

nilgunerkardes@hotmail.com

II.3

10:00 EST - 10:15 EST

Ziyad Guliyev, Nişantaşı University

Burcu Kurtis, Nişantaşı University

Yılmaz Türk, Nişantaşı University

Using Classic and Digital Storytelling Techniques in the Art Reading Education. Analysis of the Effect on Artwork Interpretations (in Turkish)

ziyad.guliyev@nisantasi.edu.tr

burcu.kurtis@nisantasi.edu.tr

yilmaz.turk@nisantasi.edu.tr

II.4

10:15 EST - 10:30 EST

Saadet Ebru Ergul, Stanford University

Esra Predolac, University of Kansas

Teaching Turkish Language Classes Online— Strategies for Keeping Learners Engaged (in English)

sergul@stanford.edu

esrap@ku.edu

PARALLEL SESSIONS III

EST 9:30-EST 10:45

Chair: Funda Güven, Nazarbayev University

Session video

III.1

9:30 EST - 9:45 EST

Gülden Tüm, Cukurova University

Semahat Resmi Crahay, PCVO Moderne Talen Gouverneur

Studies in Designing Curriculum for Teaching Turkish as a Foreign Language in Turkey (in Turkish)

semahatresmi@hotmail.com

guldentum@gmail.com

III.2

9:45 EST - 10:00 EST

Zhazira Agabekova, Nazarbayev University

Methods Used in Teaching Professional Language Online (in Kazakh)

zhazira.agabekova@gmail.com

III.3

10:00 EST - 10:15 EST

Semahat Resmi Crahay, PCVO Moderne Talen Gouverneur

Gülden Tüm, Cukurova University

Foreign Language Teaching Policy in Belgium and Teaching Turkish as A Foreign Language (in Turkish)

semahatresmi@hotmail.com

guldentum@gmail.com

III.4

10:15 EST - 10:30 EST

Funda Güven, Nazarbayev University

Framework for Teaching Kazakh (in English)

funda.guven@nu.edu.kz


AFTERNOON PARALLEL SESSIONS:

PARALLEL SESSIONS I

11:15 EST - 12:30 EST

Chair: Jeannette Okur, the University of Texas at Austin

 

Session video

I.1

11:15 EST - 11:30 EST

Betül Czerkawski, University of Arizona

Mixed Reality Technologies for Teaching Intercultural Competency: Developing A Teaching Key Words Manual for Turkish Teachers (in English)

bcozkan@email.arizona.edu

I.2

11:30 EST - 11:45 EST

 

Semra Bayraktar, MEB

Formulaic Expressions as a Medium of Cultural Transfer in Teaching Turkish as a Foreign Language (in Turkish)

b.semra@gmail.com

I.3

11:45 EST - 12:00 EST

Jeannette Okur, the University of Texas at Austin

Harnessing Open Educational Resources to Promote Intercultural Proficiency (in English)

jeannette.okur@austin.utexas.edu

PARALLEL SESSIONS II EST 11:15-EST 12:30

Chair: Zeynep Elbasan, Indiana University

 

II.1

11:15 EST - 11:30 EST

Seçil Horasan Doğan, ATA, WA

Curriculum Design at a Turkish Heritage Language School in the US (in English)

secilhorasan@gmail.com

II.2

11:30 EST - 11:45 EST

 

Mihriye Ekren, Harmony Public Schools

Authentic Reading Courses (in English)

mmekren@harmonytx.org

II.3

11:45 EST - 12:00 EST

Emrah Şahin, University of Florida

Notes from a Turkish Class: Listening Matters in LCTL (in English)

emrahsahin@ufl.edu

II.4

12:00 EST - 12:15 EST

Zeynep Elbasan, Indiana University

Wikipedia Needs You: Using Wikipedia in an Advanced Turkish Class (in English)

zelbasan@indiana.edu

 

POSTER PRESENTATIONS:

10:45 EST - 11:00 EST

Aygun Amanalıyeva, Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences

The Impact of Multilingualism on Global Education: 21st Century Language Teaching and Learning Standards

amaneliyeva@mail.ru

Ulviyya Khalilova, Azerbaijan University of Languages

The Influences of Social Networking Websites Usage in the Development of Materialistic Aspirations Among the Youth in Azerbaijan

ulviyya.khalilova@yahoo.com

Meruyert Ibrayeva, Nazarbayev University

Bakyt Akbuzauova, Nazarbayev University

Advantages and Disadvantages of Distance Learning

mribrayeva@nu.edu.kz

bakty.akbuzauova@nu.edu.kz

Parvana Mammadova, Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences

The First Azerbaijani Researcher Who Got a Scientific Degree in America on Azerbaijani Literature

p.memmedova@lit.science.az

 

 

 

 

 

=================================================

V. AATT CONFERENCE

21st Century Language Learning Standards and Curriculum Design

October 10, 2020

The AATT Conference will be online.

 

V. AATT Conference Organizing Committee:

Funda Derin: fundaderin@gmail.com

Ahmet Okal: okal@email.arizona.edu

Duygu Özkan: duygu_ozkan@hotmail.com

Elif Sayar: elifsyr@gmail.com

Betül Tarhan: tarhan@uga.edu

 

V. AATT Conference Academic Committee:

Nilüfer Hatemi: nhatemi@princeton.edu

Burcu Karahan: bkarahan@stanford.edu

Beyza Lorenz: blorenz@humnet.ucla.edu

Jeanette Okur: jeannette.okur@austin.utexas.edu

Gülden Tüm: guldentum@gmail.com

Melike Yücel Koç: yucelm@uw.edu

 

   

 

==================

 

 

 

Related Links